Pelagia Majewska Medal


This Medal was created by the FAI in 1989, following a proposal by the Aero Club of Poland, in memory of Madame Pelagia Majewska, eminent Polish glider pilot awarded the Lilienthal Medal for 1960, and holder of 17 world gliding records, who lost her life in an air accident in 1988. The Medal is offered to the FAI by the Aero Club of Poland. It may be awarded annually, on recommendation by the FAI Gliding Commission, to a female glider pilot to reward: a particularly remarkable performance in gliding during the past year, or eminent services to gliding over a long period of time.

2016Margherita AcquaderniItaly
2015Ritz De LuyNetherlands
2014not awarded
2013not awarded
2012Maria BollaHungary
2011Gill Van Den BroeckBelgium
2010not awarded
2009Beryl HartleyAustralia
2007Maksymiliana CZMIEL-PASZYCPoland
2008Ghislaine FACONFrance
2002-2005Not Awarded
2001Carol CLIFFORDSouth Africa
2000Angelika MACHINEKGermany
1998-1999Not Awarded
1997Hana ZEJDOVACzech Republic
1996Bertha RYANUSA
1994Marie KYZIVATOVACzech Republic
1993Not Awarded
1992Georgette LITT-GABRIELBelgium
1991Gisela WEINREICHGermany
1990Not Awarded
1989Ann WELCHUnited Kingdom